Catch

9 Jan

So I’m sitting at the bar, still wearing my work attire, and a regular I’m familiar with sits down next to me.  We begin discussing the amazing game of hockey (if you’re not into it, it’s a shame, game is AMAZING) and the bartender/waitress comes along.  Now, I may be cheesy, but I’m pretty smitten with this young lady and was extremely excited when I achieved her phone number.  The patron, an older gentleman with a unique sense of humor (he once asked me what I would be capable of providing a senior citizen like himself at my workplace, to which I replied, “Well, I could hold the door open for you.” and he laughed), very seriously proceeded to tell me that the waitress and I would make a very good looking couple.  A.) That was quite the compliment and B.) it dawned on me that I’m a catch.  Now, granted, I always sort of knew that I was a particularly spectacular kinda guy but for someone to say such a thing to me, especially just an acquaintance who had spent a few years longer than me on this Earth, well, it really made my day.  Granted, I agree, this female is cute and has a sense of humor I can totally dig, but I recognized then and there that I am sort of stellar (that’s awfully egotistical, isn’t it?  I say no, it’s just plain truth).  So, from here on out I’m walking with my head held a bit higher knowing that I am the bee’s fuckin’ knees.  And to that, I salute me.  And you.  And that old guy.

2 Responses to “Catch”

  1. E.S. Cameron January 9, 2013 at 11:33 am #

    Sometimes, you just need somebody else to remind you of your awesomeness. But don’t let it go to your head :

    • erinskellycameron January 9, 2013 at 11:34 am #

      that was supposed to be a 🙂

Leave a Reply

