Thank You from your Son

18 Oct

What an odd way to start a post, as I’m sure you, the reader, have no idea where I’m going with this.

Let me preface by saying that having a blog and being a psych student may sort of suck for you, the reader, as I am going to be throwing newly discovered jargon your way every time I learn something new.  So here goes.

I discovered a bit more about Antisocial Personality Disorder.  I was one who once believed that Antisocial Personality Disorder was simply a condition in which one person, the sufferer, did not care about others one bit.  And I was right, but there’s more.  Those who have Antisocial Personality Disorder can actually act socially with others, but there’s one large motive to the entire thing…

The person’s own gain.  And I have proof.

So…I met a girl last Monday.  She was stunningly, ridiculously gorgeous.  I mean, I was quite infatuated from the get go.   She added me to Facebook probably within an hour of leaving my company (we met at my workplace, which I am finding the common area for me meeting women, which may be good OR bad, results are inconclusive).  We got to talking and eventually she invited me out to her workplace to keep her company.  Now, I like to think I have enough sense to know if a woman is using me for money, so I only ordered a beer as that is really all I wanted.  We chatted in what few opportunities we had, and then I was invited to her apartment, a fucking DISTANCE from my own.

As I pull into her complex she informs me her friends are over and asks if I’m okay with that.  Being the social individual I am, I say sure and head up, given zero introduction to her friends.  Perhaps it’s my stupid ass rose colored glasses, but I believed everything to be going just well.  I shake each of her friends’ hands and tell them it was a pleasure meeting them, then gave her the smallest of kisses before I left.  I figured I’d play this the gentleman way. And maybe leave her wanting more…

The next morning I receive a picture message from her…

I wish my phone could take screen shots…

Apparently her ex-boyfriend has been stalking me.  So, couple things here.  A.) Why does this guy hate me?  How does he know I’m not better than him?  And yes, he’s stalking me, so I hope he has seen this. AND WHY DID HE CALL ME KID? B.) Why is she sharing this with me at 7:20 in the morning?  Why share it at all?  I think we’ll get to that in a moment.

So, I sort of wonder all these things in my head but let it slide, she apologizes profusely for sending it, etc. etc.  and I visit her again come Saturday night.  This time, her workplace is more busy and she doesn’t stay and chat long, though I still tip well because I believe in human decency (am I alone on this?).   Sunday comes and no talking, Monday also none.  Tuesday she has surgery to remove some wisdom teeth and very little talking.  Wednesday I buy her flowers and drive the distance to her apartment.  As I tell her I am approaching she responds with “What?”  Just that one word.  I remind her I told her I was coming over and she tells me she has errands to run, including taking her roommate to work, but by then I’m in her parking lot.   I head upstairs and the same friends who were so cordial with me are now looking at me like I’m a FUCKING GHOST.

When I was typing “GHOST” this episode came to mind, hence the picture…

She’s sitting on the floor, her roommate nowhere to be seen, and her four year old son takes the flowers I bought her from me and puts them on the table.  He’s jabbering on about something and she’s just saying how sick she’s feeling, still getting the death stare from her friends.  I decide it’s time to make my exit as I no longer want to be in this situation and leave. I’m leaving and her son says to me, “Thank you for buying flowers for my mom.”  I respond, “You’re very welcome.” As I get to my car, I get a text from her saying, “You didn’t have to leave so soon.” to which I reply, “You have plans, I don’t want to keep you from them.” and left it at that.

I haven’t really heard from her since, and that was over 24 hours ago.

Which brings me to my topic of Antisocial Personality Disorder.  Those who suffer from it, well, they probably don’t think they suffer from it, but it involves doing things on impulse with one’s OWN interest at heart, regardless of how another person might feel.  Her son, four years old, was the only person to thank me for the thoughtful gift of flowers, and he has no idea how far away I live to make that trip.  This young lady, she cares about no-one but herself, and while I should be upset with her, I honestly can’t feel anything but sorry for her.

It also made me realize that I think I’m prosocial, in the sense that instead of having no regard for other’s feelings, I care too ridiculously much about others.  And that’s not going to stop.  And I suppose I’m okay with that.

A GHOST!

4 Responses to “Thank You from your Son”

  1. E.S. Cameron October 19, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    I’m not sure this woman has Antisocial Personality Disorder, but she does seem a little shallow and disconnected from reality. Poor kid.

    • worldslastsingleguy November 21, 2012 at 2:05 am #

      Update. Went over there again because I’m foolishly stupid and she once again ignored me, sent her son to bed, and just was on her phone the entire time. She kept talking about her breast augmentation surgery and how weird they felt, I asked her to stop talking because The Avengers was on, and she became upset. I grabbed my movie (because The Avengers is SWEET) and left, not a word since. Did I mention I’m stupid?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sexual Deviancy « World's Last Single Guy - October 25, 2012

    […] for starters I am NOT an expert on this subject, but, like my last post pointed out, I learn something new and I just GOTTA share […]

  2. Well this is new « World's Last Single Guy - January 30, 2013

    […] her ex, and I with mine as well, so we had agreed to meet up for lunch or something, as she has a son so bars and what not may be out of the […]

Leave a Reply

