The female Gambit

26 Sep

Do you happen to know what a gambit is?

If you DID guess this guy, bonus points for you.

No, it’s not that guy.  Though it is, and kudos if that is what you guessed.  A gambit is a chess move where one person sacrifices a pawn in order to open up the opponent’s pieces to eventually score the checkmate.

I’ve recently discovered that, like chess, women are willing to sacrifice one thing for the ultimate victory.  And often they win.

Of course, I’m referencing sex.  I have noticed in my short time here amongst you mortals that women are prone to talk about how “into” sex they are, or how often they like doing it, until you “put a ring on it.”  I’m sorry to my female readers, but I’ve discovered this and need to air it.

I remember dating one young republican female (sure that might not matter, but to me it does, so hang with me here…) who would tell me she was ALL about getting it on.   She once left terribly deep nail marks down my back as evidence.  Then, when we are IN the relationship, she is my girlfriend, bingo, dry spell.  The gambit was successful.  She used her pawn (sex) to get to my king (relationship) and she had won.  The pawn was a distant memory and she had me buying her shit, staying at my place, everything.

This really did not dawn on me until the other day when I was texting a young lady who told me that she is willing to compromise on most things except ONE.  When I asked what, she responded “sex”.  I laughed when she concluded that, “I don’t sleep around, but when I’m in a relationship I’m practically a nympho.”

Gambit.  Yup.  I see what you did there.

Thoughts?

3 Responses to “The female Gambit”

  1. Tracy September 30, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    First of all, well done. Gambit was always my favorite… I do love an accent.

    Secondly, I see your point, and agree that there are some women out there who, as we have discussed, use sex to get love. However, I’d like to raise you this: I feel like young women are somewhat cornered into behaving like sexual deviants during the courting phase of their lives.

    You could blame this somewhat on societal pressure to be everything they can be – ladies, mothers, business execs, sex kittens, and independent beings. We are expected to be so much, and once we are comfortable with our mates, some of the facade the world forces us to put up can come down. We can be ourselves.

    And maybe we’re not all nymphos… maybe some of us just want to watch Doctor Who and cuddle. The point is that I don’t think that the majority of women of a particular age are trying to manipulate men into “putting a ring on it”, only to yank the proverbial rug out from under him once the ink is dry on the marriage contract. Most of us are just playing our part, waiting around for that one guy who isn’t going to drop us if we would rather watch British sci-fi than recreate scenes from Fifty Shades of Grey…

    Just sayin’. 🙂

    • worldslastsingleguy October 1, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

      Well put, ma’am. I can’t deny any statement you’ve made, as I feel you have validated my initial idea. Your theory of the “why” behind the behavior does make a lot of sense, but, much like a chess gambit, why use that as an opener? I’d rather be with a woman who was honest about wanting to watch some British time-traveling guy that I’ve never paid attention to (sorry) than recreate modern smut, as long as honesty is there I’m down. Let’s not create something on a false premise, right?

      • Tracy October 1, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

        Oh I’m totally with you on that, and you can blame self-esteem and daddy-issues for the majority of your gambitresses. You’re also right to go for the honesty as opposed to the outright tramp-tastic… No one likes false advertising. I don’t envy the position you’re in when it comes to screening girls for long-term relationship material, because there’s a lot of gray-area when it comes to showing your true self to potential suitors these days. Good luck out there!

Leave a Reply

