Perception

18 Apr

Perception is a funny thing.  I refuse to take a photo where I feel my acne is glaring like the Batsignal. Thirty years old, and acne. WTF??!?

image

I make this face to look awesome. Instead, it looks like a #2.

I still do it though, because I’m egotistical confident in my abilities to make women smile.

The thing about perception is, it is our reality.  It’s sort of like a self-fulfilled prophesy. My last three relationships, I felt like my significant others were ignoring me.  Sure enough, I made it so.

As for the confidence factor, it comes off as egotistical, sure.  But I’d rather have a positive perception of myself than a negative.  Cause who wants to date negative Nancy? Our Norman, I guess.  And I’m not about to let anyone bring me down.

The acne is doing a good enough job of that, alone.

8 Responses to “Perception”

  1. Tracy April 18, 2012 at 11:27 am #

    As a woman in her thirties, going through all manners of humiliation trying to get pregnant, I can relate. I’m all hopped up on hormones, and so many people have seen my girl-junk at this point, I feel like I’m in college again. I’ve also gained a mess of weight, and none of my clothes fit. Most days I feel like phoning it in…

    You’re hot. You’ll be alright. Perception is relative, and our perceptions of ourselves are often skewed so far to the left that we drive people away with our negative comments. You’re right not to let yourself become one of them.

    You go on with your bad self. Also, I’m gonna need to know where you got those shades. Mama likes.

    • Tracy April 18, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

      Oh, I’m also pimping you out around my office. So prepare yourself for the onslaught. 😉

      • worldslastsingleguy April 18, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

        Pimping, eh? Well this will prove interesting! And as far as your changing body…Mike is my friend, so I’ll be to the point…you’re gorgeous, stop worrying

      • Tracy May 9, 2012 at 10:40 am #

        Oh hey, if you need help activating your Akismet spam-comment blocker, let me know… 🙂

  2. Chrissy April 18, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    Justin, you have a knack for picking out women who are perfect for you, just not right now. You need to find someone who understands that every relationship is work. Period. There is no “it’s so magical, so it’s easy!” relationship. After six months it is work. It’s up to you whether it is fun work or tedious work. And if you are the only one working, then it’s going to fail. Fuck acne, fuck stubble, fuck having diabetes – none of that matters when someone loves you enough to work beside you. Oh yeah – and fuck perception, because EVERYONE’S perception is skewed 🙂

    • worldslastsingleguy April 18, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

      Perfect for me, but not right now? That’s not very reassuring, Chrissy! And perception, while skewed, is still reality in the eyes of the perceiver.

  3. Chrissy April 20, 2012 at 2:59 am #

    What I mean by that is the women you date seem awesome, but then they decide, oh, now is not the right time to be in a serious relationship…so they wold be right….but the timing always seems to be wrong?

  4. Homepage April 20, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    Just a smiling visitant here to share the enjoy (:, btw outstanding pattern . 387630

Leave a Reply

