Well now…

12 Mar

Today marks my 30th birthday.  You would think that hitting such a milestone would be a reason to celebrate, but that is not how the day started.

 

I’m single again.

I am not going to bad mouth my ex-girlfriend, as I would like to think that with age I have become more mature.  Instead, I want to leave my insights to relationships in general.  So…here goes:

1.) Communicate.  Unless you are both mind readers, you have no idea what is going on inside the other persons head, so talk about it.  If you are upset, voice why instead of holding it in until a boiling point.  That said, make time for your partner to express their feelings as well.  Which leads to

2.) Make time for your significant other.  Everyone leads busy lives.  Some of us, like myself, work full time and go to school full time.  However, a relationship should NEVER be based on convenience.  If you cannot make time, you should revert to step 1. and then carry on to step 3.

3.) Make time for yourself.  The whirlwind rush of thoughts and feelings and emotions that can arise at the most inopportune of times does require processing, so if you need space, take it.  However, be sure to let your significant other know that you need space.  Otherwise, you are simply ignoring the person and could be causing more harm than good.

See, I regret nothing, because if anything I have learned much these past six months.  I have done a lot to better myself, and as my friends and family members have reassured me, I deserve to be happy.  I do wish the best for my ex, as deep down she is a good person.  Anyhow, as before stated, I am now thirty and once again single.  I’m not rushing into anything, right now is the time for me to just kick back, relax, and enjoy the show, right?

One Response to “Well now…”

  1. Stephanie Y March 13, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Sorry it has a somber essence about it. But I believe everything happens for a reason and sooner or later it will reveal itself. Enjoy the rest of your day 🙂

Leave a Reply

