Three Months

6 Dec

I fully recognize I have not posted in a while.  I know I have not, and there is a reason behind it.

Ya see, I entitled this blog “The World’s Last Single Guy” because I honestly believed I would NOT find someone for me.  Perhaps my standards were too high.  Perhaps I was carrying a defeatist attitude.  Maybe all of it, maybe some of it.  Anyhow, I would often share with you the crazy little moments in my search for that one special someone.  And then I stopped.  Why?

I think, maybe, just maybe, I found her.

See, nothing in life, I’ve found, comes easy.  And that can easily be applied to the relationship I have with this lady.  One reason I stopped writing here was because I did not want to air any details about it.  Why?

It sounds ridiculous, but over the past three months, I have had the opportunity to communicate with her pretty consistently (we’re talking over 15,000 text messages, as well as email, phonecalls, voicemails, and even a little Facebook stalking (YES I am a stalker)).  What I like about this is that while we do see each other on a fairly regular, but never enough, basis, we have the time to really talk, about everything and nothing.  I feel as though, besides the OBVIOUS arm candy I am, she is getting to know me, and she likes me for me (and THAT song is now stuck in my head…).

This woman shares my sense of humor, she thinks farting is hilarious, she pretends to be grossed out when I cross the line but always follows it with a laugh.  She understands my concerns and affirms that my worries are either unwarranted or things that we will overcome, together.  She enjoys holding my hand when we go out together, she calls me handsome when I feel as though I look like my own mother wouldn’t hug me (no offense, mom).  She talks my ear off on long car trips or lunch breaks, but I never tire of her.

I am a HUGE believer in marrying your best friend.  I am also sure I have tried to make every prior love interest into my best friend.  This girl, however, there is no trying necessary.  She is just like me in some ways, my polar opposite in others.  She compliments me like the comma compliments the floating period in a semi-colon.  I have had PLENTY of time to reflect on what it is she and I have, and not once do I ever question whether I am fabricating it in my head.  She amazes me, she scares me, she makes me smile, all in all, everyone, I think I have found the one I want to be with.

I read on someone else’s facebook page today about how, as a society, a culture, we’re afraid to use the word love, yet we are also ready to wage wars over the word.  I’ve said it before I say it too soon, but after a hospital scare (or two, or five), I can honestly say that what I feel for her is pretty close. Ridiculously close, you could say.

It’s been three months, and I cannot wait for the next moment I can see her (that sounds sort of like prison visits, doesn’t it?  I’ve never visited a woman in prison, but I think my wording is off there).  She fills that space in me that inspired me to start this blog.

Could it be?  Am I no longer the World’s Last Single Guy?  As much as I loved writing (and seriously, I NEED to get back to doing this), I honestly hope I am not.  That’s the thing this woman fills me with.  Hope (I realize you could put a sexual joke there.  You know what? You got one, go ahead, lemme hear it).  I may sound gooey or whatever…but if you were capable of seeing me, as happy as I am with her, you’d know that I wasn’t exaggerating.

Hope you’re all happy for me.  Or not.  Finally, I’m happy for myself.  That’s what matters most.

6 Responses to “Three Months”

  1. AmazingGreis December 6, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    So, what you’re saying is that there is hope for all of us single folks out here, right?

    How exciting. You sound happy. What a great feeling. Congrats!

  2. KB December 6, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    Congratulations!!! That’s fantastic. I hope it works out for you. I can tell throughout this entire blog post that you’re smiling while writing it. I hope someone one day writes/thinks like this about me.

    KB @ kisslaughanddream.blogspot.com

  3. Stephanie RY December 8, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    I am extreamly happy for you and second KB’s comment with i hope that someone someday will feel that way about me. She is truly a lucky girl and i hope that you guys stay as happy as you are right now. Congrats 😉

  4. creatingmyowndestiny December 15, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    I am always happy when two people finally do “find” each other. It truly gives me hope that one day I will find that person as well. As for now I am going to relish or at least try to relish the “single life” and continue to hope.

    Congrats to you. Although you have just started this blog from what I have read you sound like one heck of a catch. She is lucky to have you as you are lucky to have her. I am happy for you even though I really don’t know you. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Three Months – part 2 | World's Last Single Guy - November 18, 2013

    […] months ago tomorrow is when we first met in person. This, of course, sparked my memory of a certain post he made a couple years ago. A very well written post, if not a little gut wrenching to read as the […]

  2. The boyfriend’s retort | World's Last Single Guy - November 19, 2013

    […] yes, I did make a sappy-esque post in December of 2011 mentioning my then relationship reaching the three-month mark and the other party being “the […]

Leave a Reply

